MRB-Logo-18

Jan & Feb releases for 10-12 year-olds

Home / Reviews / Children's Books / Children’s Books Ages 10-12 / Jan & Feb releases for 10-12 year-olds
Not sure what book to get your young reader? Take a look at these special new releases for January and February:
Worst Week Ever! Thursday by Eva Amores & Matt Cosgrove

Monday was mortifying, Tuesday was tumultuous, Wednesday was wild, but now it’s… THURSDAY!

The fourth book in the hilarious new seven-part highly illustrated series for fans of Tom Gates, Diary of a Wimpy Kid and the Treehouse series.

Worst Week Ever: Thursday
by Eva Amores & Matt Cosgrove
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781398522008

How Do Meerkats Order Pizza by Brooke Barker

In this uproariously funny and charmingly illustrated book, readers are introduced to incredible animals and the bizarre things human scientists do to understand them.

How Do Meerkats Order Pizza
by Brooke Barker
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780571381654

When Elephants Listen with Their Feet by Emmanuelle Grundmann

Featuring accessible text from Emmanuelle Grundmann, inviting art from Clémence Dupont, and informational sidebars, a glossary, an index of animals, and a standard index, When Elephants Listen with their Feet is a lively nonfiction book that encourages curiosity about—and respect for—the animals with which we share our planet.

When Elephants Listen With Their Feet
by Emmanuelle Grundmann
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781772783032
Death & Sparkles and the Sacred Golden Cupcake by Rob Justus

Death and Sparkles are back in their second hilarious adventure! This zany yet philosophical graphic novel features a most unlikely pair of BFFs: Death, a grim reaper who’s never had a friend, and Sparkles, the Last Unicorn, a celebrity influencer who is somehow immune to Death’s touch.

Death & Sparkles and the Sacred Golden Cupcake by Rob Justus
ISBN: 9781797206370
The Lost Ryu by Emi Watanabe Cohen

In this middle grade fantasy set in Japan, ten-year-old Kohei teams up with his new neighbour to search for the truth, both about Kohei’s family history and the disappearance of the giant dragons that fought in the war.

The Lost Ryu by Emi Watanabe Cohen
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781646142750
He-Man and the Masters of the Universe: I, Skeletor by Gregory Mone

The fan-favourite villain tells his side of the story in I, Skeletor, the second original Tales of Eternia middle-grade adventure from New York Times bestselling author Gregory Mone, based on Mattel’s He-Man and the Masters of the Universe and the hit Netflix show!

He-man and the Masters of the Universe: I, Skeletor by Gregory Mone
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781419766039
Monster High: A Fright to Remember by Adrianna Cuevas

The Monster High ghouls are back and more spooktacular than ever in this all-new, original middle grade series set in the world of Nickelodeon’s animated show and written by Adrianna Cuevas!

Monster High: A Fright to Remember
by Adrianna Cuevas
Format: Hardback
ISBN: 9781419769863
An Elephant in the Garden by Michael Morpurgo

It’s 1945, and the bombing of Dresden is imminent. Before the bombs start to fall, Lizzie’s zookeeper mother brings home the one animal she can’t bear to lose: Marlene, the elephant.

When Lizzie and her family join the thousands of other refugees fleeing the city, they end up with more than one unusual companion . . .

An Elephant in the Garden
by Michael Morpurgo
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780008638658
Farm Boy by Michael Morpurgo

The extraordinary sequel to War Horse.

Joey was the last working horse on the farm, and the apple of Grandpa’s eye. When Joey was sent away to be a warhorse in the First World War, Grandpa joined the cavalry in order to find Joey and fight with him.

Farm Boy brings us forward fifty years, as Grandpa tells his grandson all about Joey, and reveals a secret which he has kept to himself all these years . . .

Farm Boy by Michael Morpurgo
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780008638603
Time Travelling with a Tortoise by Ross Welford

Exciting, funny, heartwarming, and mind-bendingly clever, Time Travelling with a Tortoise is the extraordinary, adventure-packed sequel to Ross Welford’s beloved, bestselling debut, Time Travelling with a Hamster.

Time Travelling with a Tortoise
by Ross Welford
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780008544775
Officer Clawsome: Lobster Cop by Brian Smitty Smith

Dog Man meets SpongeBob in Officer Clawsome: Lobster Cop, a fast-paced and funny middle grade graphic novel series about the crimefighting duo Clawsome, a lobster, and his partner Stariana, a starfish, as they fight such denizens of the deep as the Catfishburglar, Chowderhead, and the Brain Sturgeon.

Officer Clawsome: Lobster Cop
by Brian Smitty Smith
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780008606909
Waiting for Anya by Michael Morpurgo

Jo finds out that Jewish children are being smuggled away from the Nazis over the mountains near his village. All goes to plan until German soldiers start patrolling the mountains, and Jo realises the children are trapped. Jo’s slightest mistake could have devastating consequences …

Waiting for Anya is a novel that takes children to the heart of a tumultuous period in history, providing a wider context for children who have studied the Holocaust and The Diary of Anne Frank.

Waiting for Anya by Michael Morpurgo Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780008640781
The Sleeping Sword by Michael Morpurgo

When Bun Bendle is struck blind, he feels like he is drowning in blackness. But the discovery of an ancient tomb and a strangely familiar sword changes him forever.

A contemporary tale of Arthurian legend from the author of War Horse.

The Sleeping Sword by Michael Morpurgo
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780008640774
My Friend Walter by Michael Morpurgo

Remember Sir Walter Raleigh, who laid his cloak in a puddle so Queen Elizabeth I could walk across? Well, Bess meets his ghost and finds out she’s his ancestor!

How will Bess explain Sir Walter to her family? Especially when he breaks her brother’s fishing rod, steals a horse and smokes cigars in her room?

My Friend Walter by Michael Morpurgo Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780008640835
The Boy Who Fell from the Sky by Benjamin Dean

Combining the warmth and heart of Ross Welford’s The 1,000 Year Old Boy with the epic adventure and inseparable friendship of Frank Cottrell Boyce’s Cosmic comes an otherworldly new middle grade adventure from the award-winning Benjamin Dean.

The Boy Who Fell From The Sky
by Benjamin Dean
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781398518742
Nancy Drew Diaries: What Disappears in Vegas by Carolyn Keene

A missing bride leads Nancy on a chase through Las Vegas in the twenty-fifth Nancy Drew Diaries, a fresh approach to a classic series.

Nancy Drew Diaries: What Disappears in Vegas by Carolyn Keene
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781665939454
Baxter Family Children: Being Baxters by Karen Kingsbury & Tyler Russell

In the fifth book in Karen Kingsbury and Tyler Russell’s beloved series about the Baxter children, when things don’t turn out according to plan, the siblings must stick together and remember who they are.

Being Baxters by Karen Kingsbury
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781665908061
The Superteacher Project by Gordon Korman

From Gordon Korman, the bestselling author of Restart and The Unteachables, comes a hilarious new story about a mysterious new teacher who turns out to be an AI robot from a secret experimental program.

The Superteacher Project by Gordan Korman
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780063032804
Better Day Journal by Dr Alex George

Help children feel happy and grow confidence with this interactive journal, full of tried and tested self-esteem boosters, fun exercises, and creative activities from mental health ambassador, Dr Alex George.

A Better Day Journal by Dr. Alex George
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781526366672

Share This Article

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest

Related Reviews